McCaw set for another accolade
December 4, 2006

Richie McCaw looks set to scoop a third major award when the New Zealand Rugby Union decides on its player of the year next week.

Already named player of the year by his fellow international players and the International Rugby Board (IRB), the All Blacks captain has been shortlisted for Kelvin R Tremain Memorial player of the year at the Steinlager Awards at Sky City on December 14.

His fellow All Blacks Daniel Carter, winner of the New Zealand and IRB player of the year last year, and Mils Muliaina have been nominated for the award.

Carter is also a nominee for Super 14 player of the year, alongside his Crusaders teammate Leon MacDonald and Hurricanes lock Jason Eaton.

The Steinlager Salver will be presented to the person who has made an outstanding contribution to New Zealand rugby.

South Westland stalwart Tom Clarkson, Central Otago's Jock Martin, who is president, chairman and under-13 coach at Lawrence Rugby Club, and Canterbury Marist Albion legend Maurie Scanlon, 84, have been nominated for volunteer of the year.

The All Blacks, the women' World Cup-winning Black Ferns and Super 14 champions Crusaders have been nominated for team of the year alongside inaugural Air New Zealand Cup champions Waikato.

All Blacks coach Graham Henry, Crusaders coach Robbie Deans and Waikato coach Warren Gatland have been shortlisted for coach of the year.

Auckland and Black Ferns flanker Rochelle Martin has again been nominated for the women's player of the year, joining Auckland and Black Ferns midfielder Huriana Manuel and Canterbury and Black Ferns midfielder Amiria Marsh.

Wellington winger Cory Jane, Waikato centre Richard Kahui and Manawatu lock Hayden Triggs have been nominated for young player of the year.

The inaugural Heartland Championship player of the year nominees are Wairarapa Bush's towering lock Tomasi Kedrabuka, Poverty Bay's points-scoring machine Scott Leighton and Wanganui inside back Denning Tyrell.

Last year's winner Paul Honiss and Bryce Lawrence have been nominated again for referee of the year, alongside Steve Walsh.

Several awards, including the NZRU age grade player of the year, Richard Crawshaw Memorial sevens player of the year and Tom French Memorial Maori player of the year will be named on the night.

The judges for the awards are former All Blacks manager John Sturgeon (convenor), All Blacks selector Sir Brian Lochore, former All Blacks captain and past NZRU president Tane Norton and veteran journalist and author Bob Howitt.

2006 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominees.-

Referee of the year: Paul Honiss, Bryce Lawrence, Steve Walsh

Women's player of the year: Huriana Manuel (Auckland), Amiria Marsh (Canterbury), Rochelle Martin (Auckland)

Volunteer of the year: Tom Clarkson (West Coast), Jock Martin (Otago), Maurie Scanlon (Canterbury)

Super 14 player of the year: Daniel Carter (Crusaders), Jason Eaton (Hurricanes), Leon MacDonald (Crusaders)

Team of the year: All Blacks, Black Ferns, Crusaders, Waikato

Heartland Championship player of the year: Tomasi Kedrabuka (Wairarapa Bush), Scott Leighton (Poverty Bay), Denning Tyrell (Wanganui)

Air New Zealand Cup player of the year: Cory Jane (Wellington), Richard Kahui (Waikato), Hayden Triggs (Manawatu)

Coach of the Year: Robbie Deans (Crusaders), Warren Gatland (Waikato), Graham Henry (All Blacks)

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial player of the year: Daniel Carter (Canterbury/Crusaders/All Blacks), Richie McCaw (Canterbury/Crusaders/All Blacks), Malili Muliaina (Waikato/Chiefs/All Blacks)


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.