Wallabies name RWC training squad
December 15, 2006

Wallaby selectors have named a 47-man Rugby World Cup training squad which will hold a three day camp at Canberra's Australian Institute of Sport in the first week of January 2007.

The squad features three players who have earned selection in a Wallaby squad for the first time in Reds prop Ben Coutts, Reds flyhalf Berrick Barnes and Brumbies flanker Julian Salvi.

Other players to be included in the squad who were either injured or not selected for the Spring Tour include Greg Holmes, Jeremy Paul, Adam Freier, Al Kanaar, Daniel Heenan, David Croft, Sam Cordingley and Digby Ioane.

Gene Fairbanks, Scott Fava, Al Baxter and Tai McIsaac are the only players who went on the Spring Tour to have not been selected for the training camp.

However Qantas Wallabies Head Coach John Connolly said every player taking the field in next year's Investec Super 14 was still a candidate for the final Rugby World Cup squad.

"This is a preliminary squad that will get together early in the New Year to do full fitness tests and have one-on-one interviews with the coaching staff about the year ahead," Connolly said.

"This is by no means a final squad for the Rugby World Cup. We have a Super 14 season to play, then Tests against Wales and Fiji followed by the Tri Nations. Only after that will we be able to make a final assessment for our Rugby World Cup squad."

The squad will assemble in Canberra from 3-5 January before returning to their Super 14 teams.

Qantas Wallabies Rugby World Cup training camp

Australian Institute of Sport, Canberra

3-5 January 2007


Rodney Blake

Alister Campbell

Brendan Cannon

Mitchell Chapman

Mark Chisholm

Ben Coutts

David Croft

Rocky Elsom

Adam Freier

Daniel Heenan

Nic Henderson

Stephen Hoiles

Greg Holmes

James Horwill

Al Kanaar

David Lyons

Hugh McMeniman

Stephen Moore

Wycliff Palu

Jeremy Paul

Tatafu Polota-Nau

Benn Robinson

Julian Salvi

Nathan Sharpe

Guy Shepherdson

George Smith

Dan Vickerman

Phil Waugh


Adam Ashley-Cooper

Berrick Barnes

Sam Cordingley

Mark Gerrard

Matt Giteau

George Gregan

Digby Ioane

Stephen Larkham

Chris Latham

Drew Mitchell

Stirling Mortlock

Sam Norton-Knight

Clyde Rathbone

Brett Sheehan

Cameron Shepherd

Scott Staniforth

Morgan Turinui

Lote Tuqiri

Josh Valentine

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Belgian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open