Ten teams confirmed for Asian Sevens
The Peninsula, Qatar
April 20, 2007

The excitement is building for the start of the 5th annual Asian Women's Rugby Sevens, to be staged at the Doha Rugby Football Centre, Qatar on 27th and 28th April.

The tournament organisers have confirmed that there will be a total of ten nations from throughout Asia competing: Arabian Gulf, China, Hong Kong, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Uzbekistan.

The tournament will be structured into two pools of five teams, with each team playing four pool matches on day one. On day two, following the pool round there will be a knock-out finals round with Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield competitions being contested. The winner of the Cup will be crowned as the champions of Asia for 2007.

Favourites for the title include last year's champions Kazakhstan and China, who finished 4th at the recent Hong Kong Women's Sevens.

With the teams from Sri Lanka, Thailand and Iran attending the tournament the organisers are expecting a large contingent of local support from their respective communities in Doha. The tournament games will start at 2:00pm on both days and go through to 7:00pm, a total of ten hours of non stop international rugby action for the local community to get behind and support.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Boxing - Nelson v Wilson; Simmons v Dickinson; Joshua v Gavern (Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle)
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open