O'Sullivan trims Ireland World Cup squad
August 3, 2007

Ireland coach Eddie O'Sullivan has trimmed his Rugby World Cup squad down to 37 players from the original training squad of 48 for next week's test match against Scotland.

The entire Rugby World Cup squad were put through their paces during a productive week long camp in the University of Limerick, but with the first warm up game against Scotland on Saturday week (11th August), the Ireland Coach felt that it would be better to bring the numbers down for the team selection of that game.

Among those to miss out are Johnny O'Connor, Jeremy Staunton, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney, Kieran Lewis and Roger Wilson.

O'Sullivan said, "The team to play Scotland will be selected from the 37 man squad named today. While the players that have been omitted may come back into the squad in the case of any injuries, it would be fair to say that these 37 players will form the basis of our final Rugby World Cup Squad selection."

"All of the squad have worked extremely hard this week and this has put us into a good position as regard the quality of our training. The game against Scotland will be the last chance we have to look at players before we name our 30 man squad. After that, there will be some very difficult decisions to be made."

The Ireland squad all trained today in the University of Limerick as the rugby sessions continued. Gordon D'Arcy and David Wallace, who were both carrying minor calf and ankle injuries respectively, both took part in the session. Ronan O'Gara sat out today's session as he continues to recover from his minor knee injury.

In other injury news, Tommy Bowe picked up a slight calf strain and Ryan Caldwell was injured during a continuity contact session. He has been diagnosed with concussion and has been taken to hospital where he will remain overnight for precautionary reasons.

The squad will next be in camp in Dublin where the team to play Scotland will be selected on Tuesday (7th August).

Forwards (22):
Neil Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Rory Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Simon Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Simon Easterby (Llanelli)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
Keith Gleeson (St.Mary's College/Leinster)
John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
Jamie Heaslip (Clontarf/Leinster)
Trevor Hogan (Shannon/Leinster)
Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster)
Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Malcolm O'Kelly (St.Mary's College/Leinster)
Alan Quinlan (Shannon/Munster)
Frankie Sheahan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)

Backs (15):
Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster)
Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Brian Carney (Clonakilty/Munster)
Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College/Leinster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Shane Horgan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Denis Hickie (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
Geordan Murphy (Leicester)
Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Wasps)
Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

Not Considered due to injury:
Shane Jennings (St.Mary's College/Leinster)
Barry Murphy (U.L. Bohemians/Munster)

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.