Edinburgh welcome back international trio
PA Sport
February 12, 2008

Edinburgh coach Andy Robinson has called three Scotland internationals into his starting line-up for Friday's Magners League match against Munster.

Allister Hogg, Gavin Kerr and Hugo Southwell come in for the Murrayfield contest after taking part in Scotland's 30-15 RBS 6 Nations defeat by Wales on Saturday.

And centre Nick De Luca, who made his first two appearances for Scotland this month, is named among the replacements.

Scotland next play Ireland in Dublin on February 23 and national coach Frank Hadden spoke of his concern about a lack of match fitness in his squad ahead of the opening Six Nations defeat by France.

Robinson was delighted to be given the go-ahead by Hadden, a former Edinburgh boss, as third-placed Edinburgh chase a fifth successive league win.

The former England coach said: ``Our focus is on beating Munster, so we have picked a side that can beat them and it is good that they are coming back in.

``The squad members that stayed behind here at Edinburgh have been training hard and everyone realises it is important that we put a performance together.

``The team have not played together for a few weeks, so it is important that we produce a good performance and find some rhythm going into the game.''

In a new-look back division, back-rower Roland Reid has been handed the number 11 shirt and Robinson believes the 17-stone player's power will be an asset on
the wing.

He added: ``We looked at how we could get the best out of Roly.

``We feel that having that power and pace out wide will give us some extra options in our attacking play.''

Lock Ben Gissing (calf) and Scotland pair Simon Webster (hamstring) and David Callam (neck and shoulder) were not considered because of injury.

Winger Webster and back-rower Callam both missed the Millennium Stadium clash through injury.

Fellow Scotland internationals Ross Ford and Mike Blair have been left out with Andrew Kelly coming in at hooker and Ben Meyer starting at scrum-half.

Edinburgh Rugby Club squad to play Munster at Murrayfield (Friday 15 February, kick-off 7.30pm):

15 Hugo Southwell
14 Andrew Turnbull
13 Ben Cairns
12 John Houston
11 Roland Reid
10 Phil Godman
9 Ben Meyer

1 Augusto Allori
2 Andrew Kelly
3 Gavin Kerr
4 Matt Mustchin
5 Craig Hamilton
6 Alan MacDonald
7 Ross Rennie
8 Allister Hogg (captain)

Craig Smith, Steve Lawrie, Fergus Pringle, Simon Cross, Greig Laidlaw, Nick De Luca, Calum MacRae.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.