RWC 7s qualifying competitions confirmed
March 20, 2008

Rugby World Cup Limited has confirmed the location details of the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2009 qualifying Tournaments that will take place across the globe in 2008.

Following January's South America qualifier in Uruguay, which saw Uruguay's men and Brazil's women book their place at next year's RWC Sevens in Dubai, attention now turns to the seven Tournaments that will provide the 14 remaining teams for the men's competition and the 15 remaining teams for the inaugural women's competition.

The action resumes with the European women's Tournament held in Limoges on June 14/15, with further regional RWC Sevens qualifying tournaments hosted across five continents before qualifying climaxes in the Bahamas on October 24/25 when the final men's and women's teams will be confirmed from North America.

• Europe (women's) - Limoges, France, June 14/15

• Europe (men's ) - Hanover, Germany, July 12/13

• Oceania (men's and women's) - Samoa, July 25/26

• Africa (women's) - Uganda, September 20/21

• Asia (men's and women's) - Hong Kong, October 4/5

• Africa (men's) - Tunisia, October 24/25

• North America and Caribbean (men's and women's) - Bahamas, October 25/26

"RWC Sevens 2009 in Dubai will make history as the first to incorporate a Women's RWC Sevens Tournament. The competition, which will comprise 16 teams, will consist entirely of teams that have confirmed their place through the regional qualifying structures," said IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset.

"All 16 women's teams must earn the right to compete at RWC Sevens 2009 via regional Tournaments this year. In addition to Brazil, two qualifiers will come from Africa, two from North America, three from Asia, six from Europe and two from Oceania. In total 82 women's Unions will have participated in the qualifying process," added Lapasset.

Ten men's teams have already guaranteed their place at RWC Sevens 2009. They are the eight quarter-finalists from 2005 - winners Fiji, New Zealand, England, Australia, France, Scotland, Argentina and South Africa plus the host Union the Arabian Gulf and qualifier Uruguay. A further 14 places will be filled via qualifying competitions.

Three qualifiers will come from Africa, two from North America, two from Asia, five from Europe and two from Oceania. This structure will guarantee the presence of some teams not regularly seen on the IRB Sevens World Series.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.