Cullen replaces O'Driscoll as Leinster captain
August 27, 2008

Leo Cullen has been handed the Leinster captaincy following Brian O'Driscoll's decision to step down.

O'Driscoll has captained the Irish province for three seasons, including their Magners league triumph in 2008 but has decided to call time on his tenure as captain ahead of the new season.

The announcement comes after several weeks of speculation regarding his position as captain of the Irish national team under new coach Declan Kidney.

Former Leicester Tigers second row Cullen takes the reins having captained the side on seven occasions during last season.

He is a veteran of over 100 Leinster appearances and has 19 caps for Ireland. He will be assisted by Australian scrum half Chris Whitaker and Irish back row Shane Jennings, who have been appointed as vice captains.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.