Statistics: Munster hit the Heineken heights
May 24, 2008

Check out some Heineken Cup facts ahead of this season's tournament finale.

+ A total of 644,598 fans have gone through the turnstiles for the 12 Heineken Cup finals ? an average of 53,717 per match. The first final, between Cardiff and Toulouse at the old Arms Park on 6 January, 1996, attracted a crowd of 21,800.
The 2007 final, when London Wasps beat Leicester Tigers at Twickenham Stadium 12 months ago, was watched by a world record crowd for a club rugby match of 81,076.

+ Chris White is the only referee to take charge of three finals ? in 2003, 2005 and 2006.

+ There are 223 players from the 12 match day 22-man squads who own Heineken Cup final winners' medals ? 42 have two medals and Cedric Heymans is out on his own with three (with Brive in 1997 and Toulouse in 2003 and 2005). Among the 42 double winners are current Toulouse squad members Fabien Pelous, Jean Bouilhou, Cedric Heymans, Yannick Jauzion, Finau Maka, Jean-Baptiste Poux and William Servat.

+ Only three of those double winners have collected medals with different clubs. As well as Heymans, Philippe Carbonneau did it with Toulouse (1996) and Brive (1997) and Federico Mendez with Bath Rugby (1998) and Northampton Saints (2000).

+ Players from 14 different nationalities are on the winners' roll of honour, headed by 72 Englishmen and 65 Frenchmen. There are also players from Ireland (45), Scotland (10), Wales (eight), South Africa and New Zealand (five each), Samoa (four), Argentina (three), Australia (two) and one from each of Italy, USA, Canada and Poland.

+ The most points scored in a Heineken Cup final are the 64 rattled up at Parc des Princes in 2001. The 34 scored that day by Leicester Tigers is the most scored by a team in a final and the 30 scored by Stade Francais Paris is the most scored by a losing team.

+ The most tries scored in a final are the four by Brive when they beat Leicester Tigers 28-9 in Cardiff in 1997. The 19 points winning margin is the biggest in the 12 finals.

+ The most points scored by an individual in a final is the 30 kicked by Stade Francais Paris' Diego Dominguez (nine penalty goals and a drop goal) in the 2001 defeat by Leicester.

+ Two of the 12 finals have failed to produce a try ? when Ulster Rugby beat Colomiers 21-6 in 1999 and when Toulouse needed extra time in the 2005 final to beat Stade Francais Paris 18-12.

+ This 13th final will be the 898th tournament match.

+ Two of the finals have required extra time to determine the winner and Toulouse won on both occasions, against Cardiff in 1996 and Stade Francais Paris in 2005.

+ The 12 finals have produced 21 tries ? an average of 1.75 per match ? with two players scoring braces. Sebastien Carrat got two for Brive in the 1997 final and Leon Lloyd crossed twice for Leicester Tigers in Paris in 2001.

+ Austin Healey is the only player who has won two Heineken Cup final man-of-the-match awards, in the Tigers' back-to-back triumphs in 2001 and 2002.

+ There have been three single nation finals, the strictly French affairs in 2003 (Toulouse v Perpignan) and 2005 (Toulouse v Stade Francais Paris) and 2007 (London Wasps v Leicester Tigers).

+ Raphael Ibanez, the London Wasps hooker, became the only front five forward to score a try in a Heineken Cup final when he crossed the Leicester Tigers line 12 months ago. In all only three forwards have scored Heineken Cup final tries ? flankers David Wallace (Munster) in 2000 and Neil Back (Leicester Tigers) in 2001 ? the others.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open