Super 14 final 2008
Head to head: Crusaders v Waratahs
May 31, 2008
Crusaders fly-half Dan Carter prepares to throw a pass, Crusaders v Waratahs, Super 12 final, Lancaster Park, May 28 2005.
Dan Carter will be out to torment the Waratahs in the Super 14 final © Getty Images

The Crusaders, who will be playing in their ninth final, are unbeaten at home against the Waratahs since losing 19-43 on 21 February 2004. In March this year, in the round robin part of the competition, the Crusaders beat the Waratahs convincingly by 34-7 at the AMI Stadium.

The Crusaders have lost just one of their last 15 matches against Australian opponents: 6-15 at the Brumbies in April 2007. Their last home defeat to a team from across the Tasman was on 21 February 2004 when today's opponents the Waratahs triumphed 43-19. The Christchurch based side have never lost a knockout game at their AMI Stadium home (11 successive wins).

The Waratahs have lost just one of their last nine encounters: 13-16 at the Bulls on 3 May. Their record in knockout fixtures in Super Rugby is a less than impressive won two, lost three.


29/03/96 Crusaders 21-16 NSW Waratahs
14/03/97 NSW Waratahs 25-8 Crusaders
06/03/98 Crusaders 33-12 NSW Waratahs
15/05/99 NSW Waratahs 22-38 Crusaders
05/05/00 Crusaders 22-13 NSW Waratahs
05/05/01 NSW Waratahs 25-22 Crusaders
11/05/02 Crusaders 96-19 NSW Waratahs
05/04/03 NSW Waratahs 34-31 Crusaders
21/02/04 Crusaders 19-43 NSW Waratahs
02/04/05 NSW Waratahs 27-33 Crusaders
07/04/06 Crusaders 17-11 NSW Waratahs
31/03/07 NSW Waratahs 33-34 Crusaders
21/03/08 Crusaders 34-7 NSW Waratahs


21 MARCH 2008 (ROUND 6)
CRUSADERS (6) 34, NSW WARATAHS (0) 7 (AMI Stadium)

Crusaders: Scott Hamilton(1T); Kade Poki, Casey Laulala(1T), Tim Bateman, Caleb Ralph; Dan Carter(4C, 2PG), Andy Ellis; Ben Franks, Corey Flynn, Greg Somerville; Brad Thorn, Ali Williams; Kieran Read, Richie McCaw (capt), Mose Tuiali'i(1T).

Bench: Ti'i Paulo, Wyatt Crockett(1T), Michael Paterson, Nasi Manu, Kahn Fotuali'i, Hamish Gard, Sean Maitland.

Replacements used: Maitland for Poki 68, Crockett for Somerville 69, Gard for Bateman 71, Paulo for Flynn 73, Manu for McCaw 78, Fotuali'i for Ellis 78.

NSW Waratahs: Lachie Turner; Alfi Mafi, Ben Jacobs, Tom Carter, Lote Tuqiri; Kurtley Beale(1C), Brett Sheehan; Sekope Kepu, Adam Freier, Matt Dunning; Dean Mumm, Dan Vickerman; Rocky Elsom, Phil Waugh (capt), Wycliff Palu(1T).

Bench: Tatafu Polota-Nau, Alastair Baxter, Will Caldwell, Beau Robinson, Josh Valentine, Sam Harris, Rob Horne.

Replacements used: Polota-Nau for Freier 41, Horne for Mafi 56, Baxter for Kepu 56, Valentine for Sheehan 61, Robinson for Palu 66, Harris for Jacobs 66, Caldwell for Mumm 71, Kepu for Dunning 75.

Scoring sequence: 3' Carter (PG) 3-0, 39' Carter (PG) 6-0, 50' Palu (T) 6-5, Beale (C) 6-7, 54' Laulala (T) 11-7, Carter (C) 13-7, 65' Tuiali'i (T) 18-7, Carter (C) 20-7, 72' Crockett (T) 25-7, Carter (C) 27-7, 79' Hamilton (T) 32-7, Carter (C) 34-7.

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa).

Attendance: 18000.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open