Statistics: Crusaders clinch Super 14 glory
May 31, 2008

Previous Super Rugby Finals
25/05/96 Blues 45-21 Natal
31/05/91 Blues 23-7 ACT
30/05/98 Crusaders 20-13 Blues
30/05/99 Crusaders 24-19 Highlanders
27/05/00 Crusaders 20-19 ACT
26/05/01 ACT 36-6 Sharks
25/05/02 Crusaders 31-13 ACT
24/05/03 Blues 21-17 Crusaders
22/05/04 ACT 47-38 Crusaders
28/05/05 Crusaders 35-25 NSW
27/05/06 Crusaders 19-12 Hurricaes
19/05/07 Bulls 20-19 Sharks

+ Last season's Final victory by the Bulls in Durban was only the fourth away win in the history of Super Rugby Finals: the others were all achieved by the Crusaders in three successive seasons at the Blues in 1998, the Highlanders in 1999 and the Brumbies in 2000.
+ This year is the sixth in succession where the top two finishers after the round robin section have made it to the final.
+ AMI Stadium in Christchurch hosts its fourth final, equalling the record of Eden Park in Auckland. Three finals have been played in Canberra, and one each in Dunedin and Durban.
+ The Crusaders are playing in a record ninth final (won six, lost two), the Waratahs have played in just one previous final ? losing 25-35 to the Crusaders in Christchurch three years ago. The Brumbies played in five finals (W2, L3), the Blues four (W3, L1), the Sharks two (L2), and one each from Natal (lost), the Bulls (won), the Highlanders (lost) and the Hurricanes (lost).
+ In half of the previous finals the result of the round robin encounter between the two teams has been reversed. This season the Crusaders beat the Waratahs 34-7 on 21 March.
+ Just twice before has a final team lost away from home in the round robin only to go on and win the final against the same team also away from home: in 1999 the Highlanders beat the Crusaders 23-6 at Carisbrook but then lost the final 19-24 to the same team at the same venue a month later, whilst last season the Sharks beat the Bulls 17-3 in Durban and then lost the final 19-20 to the same team at the same venue.
+ The biggest score in a final was when the Brumbies amassed 47 points in their 47-38 victory over the Crusaders in Canberra in 2004. This is also the record for the most total points in a final (85 points).
+ The largest margin of victory in a final (30 points) was also obtained by the Brumbies in Canberra, during their 36-6 win over the Sharks in 2001.
+ Just one player has scored a hat trick of tries in a final ? Brumbies wing Mark Gerard in 2004.
+ The most points scored by a player in a Super Rugby final is 22 points by Joe Roff from two tries and six conversions for the Brumbies in the 2004 final.
+ The fastest score in a final was by Joe Roff in the 2004 final, grabbing a try after just 60 seconds against the Crusaders.
+ Crusaders prop Greg Somerville is the only player to have picked up a yellow card in a Super Rugby final. He was sent to the sinbin by South African referee Andre Watson in the 31st minute of the 2000 final against the Brumbies in Canberra.
+ Mark Lawrence will referee his first Super Rugby final (in fact his first knockout match in Super Rugby). Andre Watson took charge of five finals, Jonathan Kaplan and Paddy O'Brien refereed two, whilst Steve R. Walsh, Tappe Henning and Wayne Erickson all took charge of just one final.
+ Mark Lawrence has refereed the Crusaders on nine previous occasions (7 wins), and the Waratahs on five (four wins), the last of which was in Dunedin in 2006.
+ Reuben Thorne played in all eight finals that the Crusaders were involved in (1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 & 2006), Greg Somerville in seven (he missed only 1998) and Leon MacDonald in six (missing 1998 & 2004). Caleb Ralph also played in seven finals, six for the Crusaders and one for the Blues (in 1998 against the Crusaders). Whilst playing for the Crusaders Ralph only missed the 2006 final; he was on the bench for the game but did not take the field which also ended his incredible record of 104 consecutive Super games. Richie McCaw played in five finals (2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 & 2006).

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open