Guinness Premiership
Grove makes Worcester debut against Wasps
February 27, 2009

The highly rated Worcester centre, Alex Grove, makes his first Guinness Premiership start of the season and fullback Chris Latham returns to the line-up as the Warriors prepare for their crunch game against London Wasps at Sixways on Saturday.

Latham will start at fullback for Worcester while the on-loan Willie Walker moves to fly-half.

Centre Hal Luscombe returns after recovering from a calf injury and partners Grove while Dale Rasmussen is ruled out with a stinger injury. Loki Crichton also misses the game with a hip flexor injury.

Front row changes see Matt Mullan, who trained with England this week, joined by the recalled Aleki Lutui.

New Zealander Greg Rawlinson is named at lock and will join Will Bowley in the second row. England U20 lock Graham Kitchener is named among the replacements.

London Wasps make five changes to their starting line-up that travels to Sixways in search of their first victory at the ground.

Michael Holford, Joe Ward and Tom French pack down in a fresh front-row after Tim Payne's call-up to the England squad as cover for their clash against Ireland on Saturday. Rob Webber and Pat Barnard drop to the bench after the promotion of Ward and French.

Lachlan Mitchell, comes onto the wing in place of Chris Bishay while Ireland scrumhalf Eoin Reddan starts ahead of Mark Robinson who is on the bench.

Looking ahead to the game Wasps Head Coach Shaun Edwards said, "It will be a huge challenge going to Worcester - a place where we have had very little success previously. On the back of two Guinness Premiership wins the players are very determined to keep momentum and we will be looking for a big game on Saturday."

Worcester: Chris Latham; Rico Gear, Hal Luscombe, Alex Grove, Marcel Garvey, Willie Walker, Matt Powell; Matt Mullan, Aleki Lutui, Tevita Taumoepeau, Greg Rawlinson, Will Bowley, Tom Wood, Pat Sandersonn (capt), Kai Horstmann.

Replacements: Darren Morris, Chris Fortey, Graham Kitchener, Netani Talei, Ryan Powell, Joe Carlisle, Miles Benjamin

Wasps: Mark Van Gisbergen; Lachlan Mitchell, Dominic Waldouck, Josh Lewsey, Tom Voyce, Danny Cipriani, Eoin Reddan; Michael Holford, Joe Ward, Tom French, Simon Shaw, George Skivington, Richard Birkett, Serge Betsen (capt), John Hart.

Replacements: Rob Webber, Pat Barnard, Marty Veale, Hugo Ellis, Mark Robinson, Dave Walder, Jeremy Staunton


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.