South African Rugby
Springboks named in Southern Kings squad
June 8, 2009
South Africa's Mzwandile Stick prepares for the Hong Kong Sevens, Hong Kong Stadium, China, March 25, 2009
Springbok Sevens skipper Mzwandile Stick has been named in the Southern Kings squad © Getty Images

Southern Kings selector Francois Davids has announced a 27-man squad to face the British & Irish Lions at the newly-completed Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on June 16.

Former Springboks De Wet Barry, Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Solly Tyibilika and Bevin Fortuin will all be in action for the invitational side that will provide the Lions with their final warm-up ahead of the first Test match against the Springboks in Durban on June 20.

The former Boks are joined in the squad by South African Sevens skipper Mzwandile Stick and Sevens regular Mpho Mbiyozo, Toulon lock Ross Skeate has also been selected in the squad along with former Leicester second-row Marco Wentzel.

Elsewhere, Bulls players Derick Kuün, Jaco Engels and Francois Hougaard will gat a taste of the Lions after helping their side to glory in this season's Super 14.

Coached by Alan Solomons and Robbie Kempson, the squad will convene in Port Elizabeth on Monday.

"We've tried to select a squad that will hopefully be competitive against the British & Irish Lions team," said Davids. "We are constantly looking at the future of rugby in the Eastern Cape and we've tried to select a good blend of experience and youth in our side. Our Bok Sevens stars such as Mzwandile Stick, Mpho Mbiyozo and Rayno Benjamin, have also all been added to our squad.

"There's probably going to be lots of questions regarding the selection of players such as De Wet Barry and Bevin Fortuin's inclusion in the squad, but we selected them to ensure that we match the Lions physically too."

Southern Kings squad: De Wet Barry, Rayno Benjamin, Kevin Buys, Michael Coetzee, Jaco Engels, Bevin Fortuin, Josh Fowles, Henry Grimes, Francois Hougaard, Wylie Human, Sivuyile Kobokana, Derick Kuün, Tiger Mangweni, Mpho Mbiyozo, Darron Nel, Lungile Payi, Ross Skeate, Mzwandile Stick, Heinrich Stride, Solly Tyibilika, Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Michael Vermaak, Ruan Vermeulen, Elgar Watts, Frikkie Welsh, Marco Wentzel, Simon Westraadt.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.