HSBC Sevens World Series
Argentina added to Sevens roster
ESPN Staff
June 26, 2012
New Zealand pose with the HSBC Sevens World Series trophy, London Sevens, Twickenham, England, May 13, 2012
New Zealand took the 2011-12 Sevens World Series © Getty Images

Next season's HSBC Sevens World Series has been expanded to ten venues with Argentina a new port of call on the circuit.

With the Sevens set to be included in the Olympic Games in 2016, the sport is becoming increasingly popular around the world. At the forefront of the short format of the sport's expansion has been the World Series and La Plata will host a leg of the tournament on the weekend of October 20-21 2012.

Argentina's inclusion means that that every continent now hosts at least one round with IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset delighted with their inclusion.

"These are exciting times for South America, where participation has grown by 25% in the last four years owing to the prestige and profile of Rugby World Cup, the IRB and CONSUR's investment and development strategies and Olympic Games inclusion," Lapasset said. "Argentina continues to be the beating heart of the South American success story and we very much look forward to working in partnership with the Argentine Rugby Union and the Argentina government to deliver an event that will capture hearts and minds, benefit rugby throughout the region and mark another significant milestone as we countdown to Sevens' Olympic Games debut in Rio in 2016."

HSBC Sevens World Series 2012-13

Round 1 - Oct 13-14, 2012; Australia (Gold Coast)
Round 2 - Oct 20-21 2012; Argentina (La Plata)
Round 3 - Nov 30- Dec 1 2012; Dubai
Round 4 - Dec 7-8 2012; South Africa (Port Elizabeth)
Round 5 - Feb 1-2 2013; New Zealand (Wellington)
Round 6 - Feb 8-10 2013; USA (Las Vegas)
Round 7 - Mar 22-24 2013; Hong Kong
Round 8 - Mar 30-31 2013; Japan (Tokyo)
Round 9 - May 4-5 2013; Scotland (Glasgow)
Round 10 - May 11-12 2013; England (London)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.