HSBC Sevens World Series
New Zealand claim Series title
ESPN Staff
May 5, 2013
South Africa celebrate claiming the Glasgow 7s crown, Glasgow Sevens, HSBC Sevens World Series, Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow, May 4, 2013
South Africa celebrate claiming the Glasgow 7s crown with victory over New Zealand © Getty Images

New Zealand claimed their 11th HSBC Sevens World Series title in Glasgow on Sunday but were beaten in the tournament finale by South Africa.

A 42-10 victory over Argentina in the quarter-finals was enough to give the Kiwis an unassailable lead in the overall standings and they went on to book a place in the final of the penultimate event of the season with a 26-14 victory over Wales. However, they were denied a famous double with South Africa claiming their third title of the campaign with a 28-21 win against their southern hemisphere rivals at Scotstoun Stadium.

New Zealand coach Gordon Tietjens was full of praise for his side's achievement. "It means a lot, we set two targets at the beginning of the season, to win the World Series, and the World Cup," he said. "We've had a lot of new players and I am pleased for them. To win with one round to go too is extra pleasing. A lot of credit goes to the team, they've committed a lot and it's an awesome feeling. We had nine new players in Hong Kong and we are building a depth which is now required on this World Series. But we now want to win here, we won it last year and we want to win it back."

South Africa began the day with a 22-5 victory over the USA in their quarter-final clash before seeing off the challenge of England 24-17 in the last four and coach Paul Treu was equally proud of his squad for their display in Glasgow. "Everyone stood up this weekend," he said. "I think looking back at the season we had our highs and our lows, but it is just good for us to come back and finish the season on a high."

England went on to secure their second best result of the season by edging out Wales 24-21 in the third/fourth play-off with Sam Edgerley coming off the bench to snatch the victory. England had earlier reached the semi-final after Christian Lewis-Pratt's penalty saw them overcome Fiji 15-12 in sudden death extra time.

The USA took out the Plate crown with a 17-7 victory over Argentina, Australia won the Bowl title with a 12-5 win against Kenya and France claimed the Shield with a 21-17 victory over Russia.

John Brake in action during England's quarter-final triumph over Fiji © Getty Images
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.