The IRB Sevens World Series was introduced for the 1999-00 season, and has since become a major event for fans worldwide. As the elite-level Sevens competition the series has fostered many young talents and also brought the game to new levels of popularity.

The series is contested over eight legs in Dubai, South Africa, New Zealand, USA, Hong Kong, Australia, England and Scotland. There are 16 competing teams divided into pools of four, although 24 teams enter in Hong Kong. Points are awarded for finishing top of the Cup, Bowl and Plate tournaments, with the side that has amassed the most points by the end of the series being crowned winners.

There are currently 12 core nations who compete in all events - they are: Argentina, Australia, England, Fiji, France, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, USA and Wales.

New Zealand have won eight titles, while Fiji have won one in 2005-06.

Year Winners
1999-00 New Zealand (186 points)
2000-01 New Zealand (162 points)
2001-02 New Zealand (198 points)
2002-03 New Zealand (112 points)
2003-04 New Zealand (128 points)
2004-05 New Zealand (116 points)
2005-06 Fiji (114 points)
2006-07 New Zealand (130 points)
2007-08 New Zealand (154 points)
2008-09 South Africa (132 points
2009-10 Samoa (164 points)
2010-11 New Zealand (166 points)
2011-12 New Zealand (167 points)

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Abu Dhabi GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Boxing - Nelson v Wilson; Simmons v Dickinson; Joshua v Gavern (Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle)
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open