Olympic Games
IRB confirms Rio Sevens qualification process
February 7, 2014
South Africa top the men's standings after back-to-back tournament victories © Getty Images

The top four countries at the end of the 2014-2015 IRB Sevens World Series will qualify for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Regional qualifiers will take a further six of the 12 teams in each of the men's and women's events, with one place for each competition available at a final play-off tournament.

Host nation Brazil has an automatic place in both the men's and women's competitions.

South Africa, New Zealand, Fiji and England are currently the top four in this season's men's world series. Australia, New Zealand, Russia and Canada lead the women's standings.

Rugby last appeared as an Olympic sport in the 1924 Paris Games, as a 15-a-side sport. The United States are the reigning champions.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Azerbaijan GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open