Rugby World Cup Sevens
Bidding process begins for Rugby World Cup Sevens
November 3, 2009

The IRB has confirmed that eight unions have expressed a formal interest in hosting the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens.

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Germany, Hong Kong, Russia, Scotland and USA have all put their hands up to host the tournament following the success of the 2009 edition in Dubai. Wales were the surprise winners of the Melrose Cup on that occasion, while Australia lifted the inaugural women's title.

The inclusion of Sevens as an Olympic sport in 2016 has raised the profile of the tournament according to the IRB.

Scotland, Hong Kong and Argentina have hosted the World Cup before. Murrayfield hosted the first tournament in 1993, with Argentina staging the finals in Mar del Plata in 2001. Hong Kong has played host twice, in 1997 and 2005.

Australia and the USA both host legs of the IRB Sevens World series, as do Argentina, Hong Kong and Scotland, while expansion would be the key consideration in bids from Germany, Russia and Brazil.

Applicants have until December 15 to confirm their interest, with the decision expected following the IRB's meeting in May 2010.

"The International Rugby Board is delighted with the phenomenal level of interest in hosting Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013," said Rugby World Cup Limited Chairman Bernard Lapasset. "At a time when we look forward to the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in 2016, such a strong level of interest from countries across five continents clearly highlights the global prestige of a tournament that has grown to become a major event on the global sporting calendar."


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.