2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens
Five more qualify for 2013 Sevens RWC
ESPN Staff
July 22, 2012
Portugal's Aderito Esteves forces an offload against Samoa, Tokyo Sevens, HSBC Sevens World Series, Tokyo, Japan, March 31, 2012
Portugal took the Algarve Sevens © Getty Images
Related Links

The line-up for the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens is taking shape with five more European sides booking their place in the tournament in Moscow next year.

With England, Wales and Russia already guaranteed a spot in the tournament - Portugal, Spain, France, Georgia and Scotland have also confirmed their places after progressing through the 12-team competition in the Algarve, Portugal.

The Portuguese beat Iberian neighbours Spain 7-5 in the final, but had already booked their place at next year's Rugby Sevens showcase by winning through to the cup semi finals along with Spain, Georgia and France. Scotland, meanwhile, had to beat Germany and then Italy to clinch the plate and claim Europe's fifth and final qualifying berth.

Their qualification means there are 10 places up for grabs with the Oceania, North America/ Caribbean, Africa, Asia and South America legs still to take place.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open