Six Nations
Fresh faces vie for Calcutta Cup
ESPNscrum Staff
February 2, 2012
Edinburgh's David Denton crashes across the line, Edinburgh v Aironi, RaboDirect PRO12, Murrayfield, Scotland, December 2, 2011
David Denton starts for Scotland at No.8 © PA Photos
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Six Nations
Teams: England | Scotland

Stuart Lancaster's new look England go head to head with Andy Robinson's Scotland for the Calcutta Cup at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Robinson has handed a debut to Edinburgh winger Lee Jones for the clash in one of eight changes to the squad which lost to England in the pool stages of the 2011 World Cup. He is partnered by Rory Lamont and Max Evans in the back three with Nick de Luca and Sean Lamont starting in the centres. Dan Parks and Chris Cusiter take the half-back berths.

In the forwards, Allan Jacobsen, skipper Ross Ford and Euan Murray all get the nod in the front-row while future Sale second-row Richie Gray is partnered by fellow lock Jim Hamilton in the engine room. Alasdair Strokosch, Ross Rennie and David Denton complete the line up in the back-row.

And for England, Lancaster has handed out three debuts with Phil Dowson, Owen Farrell and Brad Barritt all set for their first outing in the red rose shirt. Dowson anchors the scrum at No.8 alongside skipper Chris Robshaw and Leicester's Tom Croft. In the second-row Stade Francais' Tom Palmer is partnered by Mouritz Botha while Dan Cole, Dylan Hartley and Alex Corbisiero start in the front-row.

Ben Youngs starts at scrum-half alongside Charlie Hodgson at fly-half with Saracens duo Farrell and Barritt forming the centre partnership. Soon-to-be Sarries flyer Chris Ashton takes one wing with David Strettle on the other. Ben Foden pips Mike Brown to the fullback berth.

Scotland: Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors); Lee Jones (Edinburgh), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Max Evans (Castres); Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors); Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Ross Ford (capt, Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Newcastle), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), David Denton (Edinburgh)

Replacements: Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)

England: Ben Foden (Northampton Saints); Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints), Brad Barritt (Saracens), Owen Farrell (Saracens), David Strettle (Saracens); Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers); Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Mouritz Botha (Saracens), Tom Palmer (Stade Francais), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)

Replacements: Rob Webber (London Wasps), Matt Stevens (Saracens), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Ben Morgan (Scarlets), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Leighton Hodges (Wales)
TMO: Nigel Whitehouse (Wales)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.