Six Nations
Robinson brings in De Luca for Ireland
ESPNscrum Staff
March 6, 2012
Nick De Luca of Scotland is stopped by Damien Traille of France during the RBS Six Nations Championship match between Scotland and France at Murrayfield on February 3, 2008 in Edinburgh, Scotland.
Nick de Luca will start for Scotland in the centres © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Nick de Luca
Tournaments/Tours: Six Nations
Teams: Ireland | Scotland

Scotland have made one change to their starting line up ahead of their match with Ireland on Saturday at the Aviva Stadium.

Nick de Luca comes in to the XV with Sean Lamont switching to the wing in place of his injured brother Rory. And Andy Robinson has opted to shuffle his pack on the bench with Euan Murray, Ruaridh Jackson and Max Evans coming into the replacements in place of Ed Kalman, Duncan Weir and De Luca respectively.

Coach Robinson is looking for his side to improve on their performance against France - where they fell 23-17 - when they face Ireland. "We did many good things in the game against France but we need to be better, especially in our accuracy and execution at breakdown, in order to beat Ireland," Robinson said. "If we do the basic things well and are ruthless in contact then we can put ourselves in a position to defeat a very good Ireland team."

And Robinson has praised the returning Jackson. "Ruaridh has worked hard and done well in his games with Glasgow," Robinson said. "He had a tough time with injury following the Rugby World Cup but he has the strength of character required in international rugby.

"We are also delighted to see Max and Euan back in the squad and look forward to their contribution this weekend."

Scotland team: Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Edinburgh Rugby), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby), Mike Blair (Edinburgh Rugby); Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby) Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby, captain) Geoff Cross (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester) John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Rugby), David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby

Replacements: Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons) Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks) Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Max Evans (Castres)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.