French Rugby
Saint-Andre calls on nine fresh faces
ESPN Staff
May 31, 2012
Sharks fly-half Frederic Michalak wings the ball on during a pre-season session, Kings Park, Durban, South Africa, January 17, 2012
Frederic Michalak will play for Toulon next term and has been named in the squad for France's tour of Argentina © Getty Images
Related Links
Teams: France

France coach Philippe Saint-Andre has named nine uncapped players in his squad for the tour of Argentina and has opted to rest his skipper Thierry Dusautoir.

With Dusautoir absent, Pascal Pape will skipper the side which includes five new faces in the forwards. Saint-Andre has called on props Antoine Guillamon and Yvan Watremez alongside hot prospect Christopher Tolofua. The trio are joined by Perpignan's Romain Taofifenua and Toulon lock Christophe Sansom.

In the backs Maxime Machenaud, Geoffrey Doumayrou, Romain Martial and Brice Dulin are all called up for the first time. The quartet are named alongside mercurial back Frederic Michalak who last played for France back in February 2010.

Saint-Andre has already spoken of his desire to rest the more experienced members of the squad so there is no place in the party for the likes of Aurelien Rougerie, Imanol Harinordoquy, Dimitri Yachvili and Vincent Clerc. France face Argentina in Cordoba on June 16 and in Tucuman on June 23.

France squad:

Forwards: David Attoub (Stade Français), Vincent Debaty (Clermont), Antoine Guillamon (Lyon), Yvan Watremez (Biarritz), Christopher Tolofua (Toulouse), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Français), Yoan Maestri (Toulouse), Christophe Samson (Toulon), Pascal Pape (Stade Français), Romain Taofifenua (Perpignan), Alexandre Lapandry (Clermont), Wenceslas Lauret (Biarritz), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Louis Picamoles (Toulouse), Raphael Lakafia (Biarritz)

Backs: Maxime Machenaud (Agen), Morgan Parra (Clermont), Frederic Michalak (Sharks), Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Geoffrey Doumayrou (Montpellier), Florian Fritz (Toulouse), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Maxime Mermoz (Perpignan), Benjamin Fall (Racing Metro), Romain Martial (Castres), Yoann Huget (Bayonne), Jean Marcellin-Buttin (Clermont), Brice Dulin (Agen)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.