Scotland news
Grant & Scott start for Scotland
ESPN Staff
June 2, 2012
Scotland's Matt Scott puts boot to ball, Scotland training session, Edinburgh, Scotland, May 24, 2012
Matt Scott is set to make his first start for Scotland © PA Photos
Related Links
Players/Officials: Ryan Grant | Matt Scott
Teams: Scotland

Scotland have handed Glasgow prop Ryan Grant his first start against Australia on Tuesday, with Edinburgh's Matt Scott also making his international bow.

Fellow uncapped duo Tom Ryder and Tom Brown also feature, with both players named on the bench for the clash at Ausgrid Stadium, Newcastle, on June 5.

Ross Ford skippers the side from hooker, while John Barclay moves to No. 8 as a result of Ross Rennie's inclusion at blindside flanker. Mike Blair and Greg Laidlaw start at nine and 10 respectively, with the half-back pairing hopeful of carrying on the form they showed at Edinburgh last season.

"We were all very disappointed by the results in the Six Nations and this tour is about our strong collective determination to put that right, play with confidence and win back pride," Robinson told the Scottish Rugby website.

"There's been an intensity to training since we've been out here which has pleased me but, as ever, it's about delivering a consistent 80-minute performance and eliminating the sort of errors that have cost us dearly if we are to beat Australia.

"When we last played Australia three years ago, it was one of the most courageous performances of scramble defence I have ever seen. Four times Australia were over our line only to be held up and it will require that uncompromising resolve in Newcastle on Tuesday if we are to repeat that success.

"Scotland have played 10 Test matches in Australia and it is 30 years since the lone success to date - at Ballymore in 1982. The Wallabies team is liberally sprinkled with quality international rugby players, so we know we'll be underdogs."

Scotland: Stuart Hogg, Joe Ansbro, Nick De Luca, Matt Scott, Sean Lamont; Greig Laidlaw, Mike Blair; Ryan Grant, Ross Ford (capt), Euan Murray, Alastair Kellock, Richie Gray, Alasdair Strokosch, Ross Rennie, John Barclay.

Replacements: Scott Lawson, Jon Welsh, Tom Ryder, Richie Vernon, Chris Cusiter, Duncan Weir, Tom Brown.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.