The Six Nations Championship is the largest rugby tournament in the northern hemisphere, contested annually by England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. Each team plays each other once, with home advantage alternating on a yearly basis. Teams are awarded two points for a win and one for a draw.

The tournament can be won in two different manners, with a side winning either a championship or a Grand Slam. A Grand Slam is completed when a side defeats all others during the tournament. The competition began life in 1883 as the Home Nations championship, featuring England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. France were officially added to the mix in 1910 to make it the Five Nations championship, although they had participated in four previous tournaments.

The tournaments were suspended during both World Wars, and France were temporarily excluded from the championship between 1931 and 1939 due to allegations of professionalism, administrative troubles and a reputation for on-field violence. The tournament was reinstated in 1947 and would continue to grow as a spectacle, becoming a popular annual event for fans and eventually a big television draw.

In 2000 it was expanded to include Italy, making Scotland the last side to win a Five Nations championship.

Home Nations 1883-1909

Year Winners
1883 England (Triple Crown)
1884 England (Triple Crown)
1885 Not completed
1886 England and Scotland
1887 Scotland
1888 Not completed
1889 Not completed
1890 England and Scotland
1891 Scotland (Triple Crown)
1892 England (Triple Crown)
1893 Wales (Triple Crown)
1894 Ireland (Triple Crown)
1895 Scotland (Triple Crown)
1896 Ireland
1897 Not completed
1898 Not completed
1899 Ireland (Triple Crown)
1900 Wales (Triple Crown)
1901 Scotland (Triple Crown)
1902 Wales (Triple Crown)
1903 Scotland (Triple Crown)
1904 Scotland
1905 Wales (Triple Crown)
1906 Wales and Ireland
1907 Scotland (Triple Crown)
*1908 Wales (Grand Slam)
*1909 Wales (Grand Slam)

* (Home Nations but Wales also defeated France so a Grand Slam is recorded)

Five Nations 1910-1931

Year Winners
1910 England
1911 Wales (Grand Slam)
1912 England and Ireland
1913 England (Grand Slam)
1914 England (Grand Slam)
1915-19 Not held due to World War I
1920 England, Scotland and Wales
1921 England (Grand Slam)
1922 Wales
1923 England (Grand Slam)
1924 England (Grand Slam)
1925 Scotland (Grand Slam)
1926 Ireland and Scotland
1927 Ireland and Scotland
1928 England (Grand Slam)
1929 Scotland
1930 England
1931 Wales

Home Nations 1932-1939

Year Winners
1932 England, Ireland and Wales
1933 Scotland (Triple Crown)
1934 England (Triple Crown)
1935 Ireland
1936 Wales
1937 England (Triple Crown)
1938 Scotland (Triple Crown)
1939 England, Ireland and Wales

Five Nations 1940-1999

Year Winners
1940-46 Not held due to World War II
1947 England and Wales
1948 Ireland (Grand Slam)
1949 Ireland (Triple Crown)
1950 Wales (Grand Slam)
1951 Ireland
1952 Wales (Grand Slam)
1953 England
1954 England (Triple Crown), France and Wales
1955 France and Wales
1956 Wales
1957 England (Grand Slam)
1958 England
1959 France
1960 England (Triple Crown) and France
1961 France
1962 France
1963 England
1964 Scotland and Wales
1965 Wales
1966 Wales
1967 France
1968 France (Grand Slam)
1969 Wales (Triple Crown)
1970 France and Wales
1971 Wales (Grand Slam)
1972 Not completed
1973 England, France, Ireland, Scotland and Wales
1974 Ireland
1975 Wales
1976 Wales (Grand Slam)
1977 France (Grand Slam)
1978 Wales (Grand Slam)
1979 Wales (Triple Crown)
1980 England (Grand Slam)
1981 France (Grand Slam)
1982 Ireland (Triple Crown)
1983 France and Ireland
1984 Scotland (Grand Slam)
1985 Ireland (Triple Crown)
1986 France and Scotland
1987 France (Grand Slam)
1988 France and Wales (Triple Crown)
1989 France
1990 Scotland (Grand Slam)
1991 England (Grand Slam)
1992 England (Grand Slam)
1993 France
1994 Wales (Points Difference)
1995 England (Grand Slam)
1996 England (Triple Crown) (Points Difference)
1997 France (Grand Slam)
1998 France (Grand Slam)
1999 Scotland (Points Difference)

Six Nations 2000-present

Year Winners
2000 England
2001 England (Points Difference)
2002 France (Grand Slam)
2003 England (Grand Slam)
2004 France (Grand Slam)
2005 Wales (Grand Slam)
2006 France (Points Difference)
2007 France (Points Difference)
2008 Wales (Grand Slam)
2009 Ireland (Grand Slam)
2010 France (Grand Slam)
2011 England
2012 Wales (Grand Slam)

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.