Six Nations
New Six Nations trophy unveiled
ESPN Staff
January 28, 2015
Paul O'Connell wasn't impressed with the trophy
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Six Nations

A new six-sided trophy for the Six Nations has been unveiled, replacing the previous five-sided version which was first introduced in 1993.

The new trophy, designed and crafted by silversmiths Thomas Lyte, is only the second ever to be awarded for winning the international championship, which began life as the Home Nations in 1883, before France joined to make it the Five Nations in 1909.

Italy's admission in 2000 did not bring about a redesign of the trophy, despite it requiring a change of name for the tournament.

"The trophy is a magnificent addition to Rugby's Greatest Championship and we are looking forward to presenting it to the successful captain on the final weekend of the 2015 Championship," said John Feehan, chief executive of Six Nations Rugby.

The last round of matches in this year's tournament will be played on Saturday March 21. The Six Nations begins with Wales hosting England in Cardiff on Friday February 6.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.