South African Rugby
Habana scoops Try of the Year award
ESPN Staff
November 29, 2012
South Africa's Bryan Habana stretches the All Blacks' defence, New Zealand v South Africa, Rugby Championship, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, New Zealand, September 15, 2012
Bryan Habana breaks through the New Zealand defence © Getty Images

Springboks flyer Bryan Habana's effort against New Zealand has been named as the International Rugby Players' Association's (IRPA) Try of the Year 2012.

The South African winger got the nod ahead of New Zealand's Hosea Gear and Julian Savea's scores and France's Julien Malzieu's effort. Habana's try was voted for by rugby fans from around the world and the award caps an impressive 2012 for the former IRB Player of the Year.

He starred in the Rugby Championship for the Boks and also shone during the 2012 Super Rugby campaign for domestic side the Stormers. And Habana was delighted to be awarded the accolade.

"Scoring a try against the All Blacks is always special, but scoring against them in New Zealand, is even more special," said Habana. "I really enjoyed getting across the try-line in Dunedin - contributing to the success of the team and also lifting the spirits of my team-mates."

"Winning this Award is very special and hopefully I can continue scoring tries for the Springboks for a very long time."

Previous winners:
2011 - Radike Samo (Australia) - Australia v New Zealand
2010 - Chris Ashton (England) - England v Australia
2009 - Jaque Fourie (South Africa) - South Africa v British & Irish Lions
2008 - Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland) - Australia v Ireland

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.