South African Rugby
Boks name player of the year shortlist
ESPNscrum Staff
October 22, 2011
South Africa's Bismarck du Plessis is greeted by supporters, South Africa training session, Rugby World Cup, Taupo, New Zealand, September 26, 2011
Bismarck du Plessis is regarded as one of the world's finest hookers despite being second choice during the RWC © Getty Images

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) has announced their shortlist for player of the year with Bismarck du Plessis one of the five nominated.

Despite not being the Springboks' first-choice hooker throughout the 2011 World Cup, du Plessis makes the cut and is joined by Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield, Pat Lambie and Francois Hougaard on the shortlist for SARU player of the year.

Lambie and Hougaard have two shots at glory after being named on the younger player of the year list as well. They are joined by Johan Goosen, Elton Jantjies and Jaco Taute. Meanwhile the man linked with taking over from Peter de Villiers as Springboks coach Allister Coetzee is nominated for coach of the year alongside Golden Lions' John Mitchell.

The winners will be announced on November 3 in Gold Reef City.

The nominees are (in alphabetical order):

SARU Rugby Player of the Year:
Schalk Burger
Bismarck du Plessis
Francois Hougaard
Pat Lambie
Victor Matfield

Young Player of the Year:
Johan Goosen
Francois Hougaard
Elton Jantjies
Pat Lambie
Jaco Taute

Absa Team of the Year:
Regent Boland Cavaliers
MTN Golden Lions
Springbok Sevens
DHL Stormers
University of Cape Town

Absa Coach of the Year:
Allister Coetzee (DHL Stormers and Western Province)
Eugene Eloff (Regent Boland Cavaliers)
John Mitchell (MTN Lions and Golden Lions)
John Plumtree (The Sharks)
Paul Treu (Springbok Sevens)

Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year:
Gio Aplon (DHL Stormers)
Schalk Burger (DHL Stormers)
Bismarck du Plessis (The Sharks)
Sarel Pretorius (Toyota Cheetahs)
Duane Vermeulen (DHL Stormers)

Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
Johan Goosen (Toyota FS Cheetahs)
Elton Jantjies (MTN Golden Lions)
Frederic Michalak (The Sharks)
Josh Strauss (MTN Golden Lions)
Jaco Taute (MTN Golden Lions)

Absa Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
Bolla Conradie (Regent Boland Cavaliers)
Danwel Demas (Regent Boland Cavaliers)
Willie le Roux (Regent Boland Cavaliers)
Luke Watson (EP Kings)
Elgar Watts (Regent Boland Cavaliers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
Marnitz Boshoff (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Marcell Coetzee (Sharks XV)
Lionel Cronje (DHL WP)
JJ Engelbrecht (DHL WP)
Juan Imhoff (Pampas XV)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.