South African Rugby
Meyer reveals first Boks planning camp
ESPNscrum Staff
April 12, 2012
South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer faces the media, South African Rugby Union press conference, Cape Town, South Africa, January 27, 2012
Heyneke Meyer has unveiled his first squad as Springboks boss © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Heyneke Meyer
Tournaments/Tours: England tour

Springboks boss Heyneke Meyer has revealed the squad for his first planning camp ahead of their three-Test series against England in June.

The camp consists of Cheetahs and Lions representatives and will take place from April 16-19 - a weekend when both South African sides have a bye from Super Rugby. The Sharks and the Bulls players will link up with Meyer from April 23-26 while the Stormers' charges will have the chance to impress from May 1-3.

"I've been mindful of the fact that we won't have a lot of time to prepare for England, but these sessions will greatly assist in getting the players ready for when we get together a week before the first Test," Meyer said. "The five Super Rugby franchises have been very accommodating in assisting us with the release of players for the various planning sessions and walk through camps.

"We've planned these camps in accordance with their bye weekends during Super Rugby and I've given the franchises the assurance that there won't be any intense field training during our sessions - it will be mostly theoretical planning sessions as well as walk through sessions of our planned plays.

"I'm planning to look quite wide at most of the eligible players from our five Super Rugby squads when I invite players to attend our sessions - including currently injured players. The more players that are aware of how we'd like to play this year, the better for the Springboks' preparations for a very tough season."

The first Springboks planning camp:

Forwards:Coenie Oosthuizen, Caylib Oosthuizen, Pat Cilliers, CJ van der Linde, WP Nel, Adriaan Strauss, Bandise Maku, Callie Visagie, Izak van der Westhuizen, Davon Raubenheimer, Franco van der Merwe, Heinrich Brüssow, Derick Minnie, Pieter Labuschagne, Ashley Johnson, Juan Smith, Josh Strauss, Philip van der Walt

Backs: Piet van Zyl, Michael Bondesio, Johan Goosen, Elton Jantjies, Butch James, Willie le Roux, Andries Strauss, Doppies La Grange, Robert Ebersohn, Alwyn Hollenbach, Lionel Mapoe, Jaco Taute, Hennie Daniller

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.