South Africa
Springboks announce squad to face Wales and Scotland
ESPN Staff
June 1, 2014
South Africa have given Eben Etzebeth more time to recover from a foot injury © Getty Images

South Africa have named a new-look squad to face Wales and Scotland this summer with seven uncapped players included in the 36.

Damian de Allende, Lood de Jager, Cornal Hendricks, Teboho Mohoje, S'bura Sithole, Marcel van der Merwe and Callie Visagie are the new men called up by head coach Heyneke Meyer. World Cup winners Schalk Burger and Victor Matfield are also included.

Meyer will be without his usual leaders after Springbok captain Jean de Villiers was ruled out for eight weeks with a knee injury and vice-captain Adriaan Strauss was handed a three-match ban. The experienced Jaque Fourie has is also out with an ankle injury, while Eben Etzebeth has been given more time to fully recover from a foot problem.

"It's never easy starting the international season without a number of key players, but it's the same for our opponents as well and there are no excuses," said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

"We simply have to hit the ground running this week and make sure we start the season as well as possible."

South Africa play a two-Test series against Wales on June 14 and 21 before facing Scotland on June 28.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Mexican GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open