Erasmus on the mend
March 3, 2000

Cats skipper Johan "Rassie" Erasmus is making good progress from the injury which has delayed his start to this year's Super 12.
Erasmus, who injured the tissue around his pelvic bone, has been given permission to leave with the rest of his Cats teammates on Sunday for their four-match sojourn in Australia and New Zealand.
Even though the star Bok loose forward is making good progress, he won't be available for the Cats game against the Stormers this weekend. No 8 Andre Vos, who had a great game against the Bulls, will still be in charge of the team.
The Cats touring squad is loaded with Springboks and besides Erasmus and Vos there are a further 10, with players like Andre Venter, Hennie le Roux and Chester Williams all ready to tour.
Cats coach Laurie Mains has announced a 25-man touring party for their first match against the New South Wales Waratahs in Sydney, but the squad for the next three games will be further bolstered by the inclusion of three young Lions stars from last season; Walter Minnaar, Wickus Venter and Dean Hall.
There aren't any surprises in the Cats squad, but the inclusion of Adrian Garvey might interest a few people.
The Springbok tighthead, who was part of the Springbok team that enjoyed a 17-match unbeaten streak in 1997 and 1998, underwent a knee operation earlier this season and wasn't offered a contract by the Sharks. But the Lions have wasted no time in snapping up the experienced campaigner, who is a great team man and motivator.
Garvey will make his Lions debut this weekend against Namibia in Windhoek, but he is only expected to play one half.
The Cats squad
Backs: Kobus Engelbrecht, Thinus Delport, Jannie van der Walt, Grant Esterhuizen, Japie Mulder, Mac Masina, Chester Williams, Hennie le Roux, Louis Koen, Werner Swanepoel, Jimmy Powell. Forwards: Andre Vos, Piet Krause, Andre Venter, Rassie Erasmus, Torros Pretorius, Jannes Labuschagne, Johan Ackermann, Victor Matfield, Willie Meyer, Adrian Garvey, Leon Boshoff, Delarey du Preez, Marius Mostert, Pierre Ribbens. Additional players to join the squad after the first match: Dean Hall, Wickus Venter, Walter Minnaar.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.