IRB Sevens World Series
Afrika up against Kiwi duo for Sevens award
ESPNscrum Staff
June 2, 2011
South Africa's Cecil Afrika goes outside England's Chris Cracknell, South Africa v England, George Sevens, IRB Sevens World Series, Outeniqua Park, George, South Africa, December 11, 2010
South Africa's Cecil Afrika scored a staggering 40 tries in this season's IRB Sevens World Series © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Tomasi Cama | Tim Mikkelson

South Africa's Cecil Afrika will battle it out with New Zealand duo Tomasi Cama and Tim Mikkelson for the 2011 International Rugby Board (IRB) Sevens Player of the Year award.

Afrika top scored in this year's IRB Sevens World Series, racking up 385 points in total, while Cama and Mikkelson both played integral roles in their country's ninth title success.

"All three have been outstanding players and sportsmen this season and to be shortlisted by the teams they have played against shows just how significant their individual contributions have been for their teams," IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset said.

The winner will be announced that the IRB awards evening in Auckland, New Zealand on October 24.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.