RaboDirect PRO12
Visser spearheads Dream Team selection
ESPNscrum Staff
May 3, 2012
Edinburgh's Tom Visser touches down for a match-winning try, Edinburgh v Racing Metro, Heinken Cup, Murrayfield, Edinburgh, Scotland, November 18, 2011
Edinburgh's Tim Visser is the leading try scorer in this season's RaboDirect PRO12 © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Casey Laulala | Isa Nacewa | Ruan Pienaar | Tim Visser
Tournaments/Tours: RaboDirect PRO12
Teams: Ireland | Italy | Scotland | Wales

Edinburgh winger Tim Visser has capped another fine season with selection in the RaboDirect PR12 Dream Team - the third year in-a-row that he has made the grade.

The Dutch-born 24-year-old, who will qualify for Scotland later this year on residential grounds, is once again the leading try scorer in the PRO12 this season with 12 tries in 18 appearances. His career tally of 36 tries in 56 appearances for Edinburgh leaves him level with Ospreys' Nikki Walker and just behind recently-retired Leinster wing Shane Horgan (39) and Ospreys star Tommy Bowe (46).

Visser is one of five players from the 2011/12 Dream Team who have retained their place this year with Leinster fullback Isa Nacewa, Ulster scrum-half Ruan Pienaar, Cardiff Blues centre Casey Laulala and Leinster hooker Richardt Strauss also getting the nod once again from a panel of journalists.

Glasgow Warriors are the most decorated side with three players in the form of fly-half Duncan Weir, loose-head prop Jon Welsh and lock Tom Ryder. Visser's team-mate David Denton claims the blindside berth with the Ospreys' Justin Tipuric at openside and the Scarlets' Ben Morgan at No.8. Ulster's Dan Tuohy completes the second row and Munster's BJ Botha packs down at tight-head. In the backs, the Ospreys' Ashley Beck gets the nod at inside centre and the Cardiff Blues' Alex Cuthbert lines up on the left wing.

No fewer than 89 players from all 12 clubs in the RaboDirect PRO12 received votes and the final make up of the team is as follows:

RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team 2011/12: Isa Nacewa (Leinster), Tim Visser (Edinburgh), Casey Laulala (Cardiff Blues), Ashley Beck (Ospreys), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues); Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster); Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), BJ Botha (Munster), Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Tom Ryder (Glasgow Warriors), Dave Denton (Edinburgh), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Ben Morgan (Scarlets)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.