New Zealand
Three more All Blacks re-sign
February 14, 2014
Israel Dagg will join a long list of All Black stars who have re-signed with New Zealand Rugby © Getty Images

All Black backs Israel Dagg and Cory Jane have re-signed with the New Zealand Rugby Union through to 2017 and lock Luke Romano to 2016, the union says. Chief executive Steve Tew says the union is now developing a core of players to stay in the country after the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

"We are well aware that our players have options to play overseas, but the fact that they have re-committed to New Zealand is fantastic," Tew said.

Dagg, 25 and with 38 Tests under his belt, and Romano, 27 and 16 Tests, have also signed to stay with the Crusaders. Jane, 31 and with 45 Tests, has re-signed with the Hurricanes. Jane and Dagg join All Blacks Kieran Read, Ben Smith and Samuel Whitelock who have all signed through to 2017, when the British & Irish Lions will tour.

Dane Coles and Sonny Bill Williams have signed until 2016 while the All Blacks who have so far signed until 2015 are: Richie McCaw, Liam Messam, Sam Cane, Steven Luatua, Jerome Kaino, Keven Mealamu, Ben Franks, Wyatt Crockett, Ben Afeaki, Brodie Retallick, Jeremy Thrush, Luke Whitelock, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Dan Carter, Colin Slade, Ma'a Nonu, Francis Saili, Julian Savea and Charles Piutau.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.