South Africa Rugby
Habana grabs third player of year award
ESPN Staff
November 2, 2012
South Africa's Bryan Habana stretches the All Blacks' defence, New Zealand v South Africa, Rugby Championship, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, New Zealand, September 15, 2012
Bryan Habana wins the award for a third time © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Keegan Daniel | Eben Etzebeth | Bryan Habana
Tournaments/Tours: South Africa tour
Teams: South Africa

Springbok winger Bryan Habana has been named as South African player of the year for a third time.

The 29-year-old, who won the award in 2005 and 2007, celebrated another stellar year after helping the Stormers to the Super Rugby semi-finals and extending his Springbok try-scoring record to 47. He scored seven tries for South Africa this season, including a hat-trick against Australia in the Rugby Championship. Habana also won the Currie Cup for the first time with Western Province.

However Habana, who is South Africa's most capped winger, suffered a knee injury in that Currie Cup final which means he misses the Springboks' end of season tour to the northern hemisphere, which includes matches against Ireland, Scotland and England.

The winger beat off competition from Keegan Daniel, Patrick Lambie, Eben Etzebeth and JP Pietersen and is only the second player to win the accolade more than twice following Naas Botha, who won it four times.

Etzebeth was named young player of the year while Daniel was voted as Super Rugby player of the year by the six franchise coaches. John Plumtree was named coach of the year and his Sharks took team of the year.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.