Super Rugby
Six changes for Chiefs for Grand Final rematch
April 23, 2014
The Chiefs have made six changes for their Grand Final rematch in Canberra © Getty Images

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has made six changes to his starting line-up for Friday's Super Rugby match against the Brumbies at Canberra Stadium. Mahonri Schwalger will start at hooker and will be joined in the forwards by Ross Filipo, who gets his first start for the year.

Lock Mike Fitzgerald is unavailable after copping a one-week suspension for a high tackle on No.8 Kieran Read in last week's 18-17 loss to the Crusaders. Chiefs No.8 Liam Squire failed a concussion test in the same match, and half-back Tawera Kerr-Barlow is also unavailable after suffering a head knock.

Nick Crosswell and Sam Cane will be starting flankers, with Liam Messam moving to No.8 and Augustine Pulu coming in at half-back. James Lowe returns from a knee injury in one of four changes to the bench where he will be joined by Tevita Koloamatangi, Brad Weber and Dwayne Sweeney, who has re-joined the Chiefs after two years playing in Japan.

Chiefs: Tom Marshall, Tim Nanai-Williams, Andrew Horrell, Bundee Aki, Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Gareth Anscombe, Augustine Pulu, Liam Messam, Sam Cane, Nick Crosswell, Brodie Retallick, Ross Filipo, Ben Tameifuna, Mahonri Schwalger, Pauliasi Manu. Reserves: Nathan Harris, Jamie Mackintosh, Josh Hohneck, Matt Symons, Tevita Koloamatangi, Brad Weber, Dwayne Sweeney, James Lowe.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.