IRB Hall of Fame
IRB to induct 37 players into new Hall of Fame
ESPN Staff
August 1, 2014
Keith Wood will be joined by 36 others in the new Hall of Fame list © Getty Images

Keith Wood, Jason Leonard and JPR Williams are just three of the names set to be inducted into the IRB's Hall of Fame.

The IRB has announced that its Hall of Fame will merge with the separate International Rugby Hall of Fame to create a definitive record of the game's greats. The merger, to take place later this year, will see 37 players who have previously been overlooked finally inducted into the IRB's list.

They include former All Black Sir Colin Meads, named New Zealand's player of the century in 1999 and regarded as one of the greatest players the game has seen. He will be joined in the re-organised Hall of Fame by fellow New Zealanders such as Sean Fitzpatrick, Grant Fox and John Kirwan.

The latest inductions will take place at a series of events during 2014 and 2015.

''Over the next year and a half we will be inducting some of the greats of our Game into the IRB Hall of Fame at events around the globe, culminating at Rugby World Cup 2015,'' IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset said.

''I would like to thank the owners of the International Rugby Hall of Fame for their support in creating one definitive celebration of the sport.''

John Hart, chairman of Global Rugby Enterprises Limited which owns the International Rugby Hall of Fame, said he that he was delighted to reach an agreement with the IRB.

''In doing so we have preserved the history of the International Rugby Hall of Fame by ensuring the induction of our 37 inductees who are not already in the IRB Hall of Fame," he said. "'We wish the IRB Hall of Fame continued success.''

The integration of the two Halls of Fame will sit alongside a programme of inductions to recognise greats of the women's game and some of rugby's more colourful characters from the start of the 20th century.

The full list of inductees: Fred Allen, Bill Beaumont, Phil Bennett, Naas Botha, Gordon Brown, Don Clarke, Gerald Davies, Mervyn Davies, Morne du Plessis, Ieuan Evans, Sean Fitzpatrick, Grant Fox, Danie Gerber, Tim Horan, Andy Irvine, Carwyn James, Barry John, Michael Jones, Tom Kiernan, Ian Kirkpatrick, John Kirwan, Jason Leonard, Michael Lynagh, Bill McLaren, Terry McLean, Jo Maso, Colin Meads, Graham Mourie, Hennie Muller, George Nepia, Gwyn Nicholls, Jean-Pierre Rives, Fergus Slattery, Joost van der Westhuizen, Wavell Wakefield, JPR Williams, Keith Wood

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.