Rugby Championship
Genia, Horne ruled out for Argentina Test
ESPN Staff
July 19, 2015
Genia limped from the field after suffering a leg injury © Getty Images

Will Genia and Rob Horne have been ruled out of the Wallabies squad to Argentina. Both players came away from the Wallabies win over the Springboks with injuries, with Genia requiring surgery for a knee injury.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika announced his 31-man touring squad for the Wallabies Test against Argentina next week with Cheika calling in four players to bolster the squad and replace the injured Genia and Horne.

Australia 24-20 South Africa (video available in Australia only)

Genia was sent for scans on Sunday morning and was quickly ruled out of the squad after they found he suffered bone bruising and minor cartilage damage, while Horne will return to Sydney with a calf strain.

Nick Phipps replaced Genia for the second half and now has the opportunity to make the No.9 jersey his own with Genia now sidelined for two weeks.

Cheika said: "It's disappointing for Will and Rob to miss this upcoming Test. They have both made an outstanding contribution to the group this past two weeks, and will continue to remain part of the wider squad from afar."

"Will is due to have some minor surgery this week and we are confident he will be available for selection for the Bledisloe Cup series. We have taken a conservative approach with Rob and the additional week off will serve him well going into the next stage of our campaign."

Nick Cummins and Nic White have been called into the squad as replacements, with the pair to meet the Wallabies in Argentina after traveling from the United States, where the pair have been on a promotional tour for the Wallabies Test in Chicago. While hooker James Hanson and prop Tetera Faulkner also join the group.

Wallabies squad for Argentina

Adam Ashley-Cooper (Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (Waratahs), Quade Cooper (Reds), Nick Cummins (Force), Tetera Faulkner (Force), Scott Fardy (Brumbies), Israel Folau (Waratahs), Bernard Foley (Waratahs), Matt Giteau (Toulon), James Hanson (Reds), Scott Higginbotham (Rebels), Greg Holmes (Reds), Michael Hooper (Waratahs), James Horwill (Reds), Sekope Kepu (Waratahs), Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies), Stephen Moore - Captain (Brumbies), Drew Mitchell (Toulon), Ben McCalman (Force), Sean McMahon (Rebels), Dean Mumm (Waratahs), Nick Phipps (Waratahs), David Pocock (Brumbies), Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs), Scott Sio (Brumbies), Rob Simmons (Reds), Will Skelton (Waratahs), James Slipper (Reds), Matt Toomua (Brumbies), Joe Tomane (Brumbies), Nic White (Brumbies)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.