Super Rugby round five
Chris Alcock replaces Matt Hodgson
ESPN Staff
March 15, 2013
Western Force flanker Matt Hodgson looks for an opening, Western Force v Stormers, Super Rugby, ME Bank Stadium, Perth, Australia, April 2, 2011
Matt Hodgson misses the match with a hamstring injury © Getty Images

Western Force have promoted Chris Alcock from the bench to replace Matt Hodgson against Queensland Reds in Brisbane on Saturday night, the team captain rested to overcome a hamstring injury aggravated in the round-three match against the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld.

In Hodgson's absence, prop Pek Cowan will lead the side for the second time this season.

Winger Patrick Dellit, meanwhile, returns to the side after sustaining an ankle injury and facial fractures in the Force's season opener against Melbourne Rebels, replacing Nick Cummins after the Wallabies winger was ruled out after inflaming a pre-season knee injury.

"Saturday provides a great opportunity for both Chris and Paddy," Force head coach Michael Foley said. "Chris has played well for us in our opening three matches. Likewise, Paddy has been one of our most improved performers through the pre-season and against the Rebels."

The Force have also called up second-rower Phoenix Battye to replace Sam Wykes, who has an ankle injury, while Brisbane-born back Junior Rasolea returns to the bench alongside scrum-half Mick Snowden and midfielder Jayden Hayward.

Foley said his side would seek to build on the momentum from its latest performance against the Bulls. "During the Bulls, we were pleased with the character the team displayed as well as a number of elements of our game," he said. "We have used the bye week to emphasise the lessons we've learnt from the first three games and recognise the challenge in continuing to grow as a team and develop our game against the Reds."

Force: Will Tupou; Patrick Dellit, Winston Stanley, Kyle Godwin, Alfie Mafi; Sias Ebersohn, Alby Mathewson; Richard Brown, Chris Alcock, Angus Cottrell; Hugh McMeniman, Toby Lynn; Salesi Ma'afu, Nathan Charles, Pek Cowan (captain). Replacements: Heath Tessmann, Tetera Faulkner, Phoenix Battye, Ben McCalman, Mick Snowden, Junior Rasolea, Jayden Hayward.

© ESPN Australia / New Zealand

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.