Bulls v Brumbies, Super Rugby semi-final, July 27
Brumbies opt for same again
ESPN Staff
July 24, 2013
The Brumbies' Clyde Rathbone scores a try against the Rebels, Brumbies v Melbourne Rebels, Super Rugby, Canberra Stadium, June 7, 2013
Clyde Rathbone retains his place on the left wing for the Brumbies clash with the Bulls on Saturday © Getty Images

The Brumbies have named an unchanged line-up for their Super Rugby semi-final against the Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday.

Coach Jake White has kept faith with the same side that edged the Cheetahs 15-13 in their qualifier clash last weekend and as a result veteran George Smith and Clyde Rathbone retain their places on the left wing and at openside respectively. No.8 Ben Mowen will lead a side that also features Matt Toomua at fly-half and Christian Lealiifano at inside centre.

The Brumbies haven't beaten the Bulls in Pretoria since 2006 and suffered a narrow 36-34 defeat on their last visit to Loftus Versfeld in 2012. The Bulls have not lost at home this year and have never lost a play-off game - a fact that White is well aware of.

"The Bulls present us with a huge challenge this weekend. We know they will play through their forwards and use Morne (Steyn) to finish with points," White said.

"They have a good record here at Loftus and for our players to experience running on in front of a full house of more than 50,000 people will be fantastic. They are a typical South African side, very big and physical with some quality finishers out wide so it's up to our players to combat that with our own game."

Brumbies: Jesse Mogg; Henry Speight, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Lealiifano, Clyde Rathbone; Matt Toomua, Nic White, Scott Sio, Stephen Moore, Ben Alexander, Scott Fardy, Sam Carter, Peter Kimlin, George Smith, Ben Mowen (capt)

Replacements: Siliva Siliva, Ruan Smith, Fotu Auelua, Colby Faingaa, Ian Prior, Andrew Smith, Joe Tomane

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open