ESPN Footytips
Greg Growden's Super Rugby final tip
Greg Growden
August 1, 2013

Saturday, August 3

Chiefs v Brumbies, Waikato Stadium, Hamilton

Greg Growden and Russell Barwick preview the decider
%]

If the Brumbies win the final, it will be Australia's best achievement in the 18-year-old tournament simply because of the difficult trek criss-crossing the world they have had to encounter. Jet-lag won't be the problem; keeping the excellent counter-attacking Chiefs at bay will be. The Brumbies won't change their game plan: they'll keep booting everything in their half back down the field; it has worked all season, but it could go awry in Hamilton because the Chiefs are not a team you want to give a leg up - especially in providing them with more possession and more chances to counter-attack. The Chiefs will play at a far higher intensity than did the brain-dead Bulls, and the Brumbies' defensive line, while it is outstanding, is not infallible.

Tip: Chiefs


Follow live text commentary of the Super Rugby Final between the Chiefs and the Brumbies on Saturday, August 3, from 7pm (NZT), 5pm (EST), 7am (GMT)

Will Ben Mowen and Jake White be celebrating in Hamilton? © Getty Images
Enlarge

© ESPN Australia / New Zealand

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Canadian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Darts - Premier League
    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open