National Rugby Championship
Eagles' Jono Lance named NRC Player of the Season
ESPN Staff
October 20, 2015
Jono Lance polled votes in every round of the competition© Scott Barbour/Getty Images

NSW Country Eagles flyhalf Jono Lance has been named Buildcorp National Rugby Championship Player of the Season, having been one of just four players to poll in every round of the season.

The Canberra-born New South Wales Country Eagles playmaker won the award, chosen following a 3-2-1 voting system after every game, from Melbourne Rising back-rower Jordy Reid and Canberra Vikings flanker Ita Vaea.

Lance, who has moved from to Western Force for the 2016 Super Rugby season, having failed to establish himself at New South Wales Waratahs after moving south from Queensland Reds, said the NRC campaign had "helped me find my feet again" after limited playing time in the provincial championship.

"I had lost a bit of confidence so this has been absolutely perfect for me.

The Australian Barbarians selection panel, meanwhile, named their 26-man squad of players not contracted to Super Rugby clubs in the most recent season to face a New Zealand Heartland Championship selection of uncontracted Super Rugby players.

Darren Coleman (Eagles) and Brad Harris (Vikings) will coach the squad, having selected it with Adrian Thompson, Pathway Services Manager - Talent Development at the Australian Rugby Union and former Wallabies back-rower Stephen Hoiles.

"This tour is a really good opportunity for players that have already made the step up to the NRC to push their claim for further honours," Thompson said. "It is also the perfect opportunity for the selected players to play in a different environment. "We've selected a young side [average age 23] that I'm sure will meet a Heartland XV team that will be tough and physical. I'm certain they'll be excited at this unique opportunity to play a touring Australian team."

Australian Barbarians squad

Props: Cameron Orr (Greater Sydney Rams, 20) Hayden Hirismaki (Queensland Country, 27) Tyrel Lomax (Vikings, 19) Duncan Chubb (Melbourne Rising, 27)

Hookers: Luke Holmes (North Harbour Rays, 31) Ryan Dalziel (Eagles, 27)

Second-Row: Matt Philip (Sydney Stars, 21) Ben Hyne (Brisbane City, 21) Phil Potgieter (Queensland Country, 20)

Back-Row: Waita Setu (Brisbane, 23) Rowan Perry (Vikings, 21) Sam Figg (Eagles, 23) Dean Oakman-Hunt (Vikings, 22) Pauli Tuala (Eagles, 30) Mark Baldwin (Eagles, 22)

Scrum-Halves: Mitch Short (Eagles, 20) Dewet Roos (Rams, 25)

Fly-Half: Rod Iona (Vikings, 24)

Centres: Reece Hodge (Rays, 21) Andrew Robinson (Stars, 21) Tom Hill (Rays, 25) Charli Clifton (Eagles, 24)

Outside Backs: Maalonga Konelio (Perth Spirit, 26) Paul Asquith (Rams, 22) Jarome McKenzie (Eagles, 24) Harry Jones (Stars, 19)

Tour Dates

November 10: Levin Domain, Manawatu-Wanganui

November 13: Cooks Gardens, Wanganui

© ESPN Staff

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.