Rugby World Cup
New Zealand's Dan Carter named World Rugby Player of the Year
ESPN Staff
November 1, 2015
Are New Zealand the best team ever?

World Cup-winner Dan Carter capped off a weekend to remember when he was named World Rugby Player of the Year on Sunday night.

A day after lifting the Webb Ellis Cup at Twickenham, the veteran All Black saw off teammate Julian Savea, Australia's Michael Hooper and David Pocock, Wales lock Alun Wyn Jones, and Scotland captain Greig Laidlaw to claim the prestigious prize at a ceremony in Battersea, London.

Carter was named man of the match as New Zealand stormed to victory over southern hemisphere rivals Australia in Saturday's World Cup final -- his last match in the All Black jersey after an 112 Test career.

© Richard Heathcote - World Rugby/World Rugby via Getty Images

"Feel like I'm leaving on the right note," Carter said after receiving the award.

Fellow All Black Nehe Milner-Skudder, who scored New Zealand's opening try in their victory over the Wallabies, was named Breakthrough Player of the Year, beating Scotland's Mark Bennett and Georgia scrum-half Vasil Lobzhanidze to the award. Lobzhanidze became the youngest ever World Cup player when he started in Georgia's opening pool stage victory against Tonga. 

Defeated Australia boss Michael Cheika was named Coach of the Year just 12 months after taking the Wallabies helm. He steered his side to victory over New Zealand in August this year but was unable to repeat the success in Saturday's decider.

Carter and his fellow All Blacks were named Team of the Year after becoming the first side in history to win back-to-back World Cup titles, while Savea was awarded Try of the Year for his bulldozing effort in the quarterfinal victory over France. 

There was also a nod to the rising stock of Tier Two rugby when Japan's victory over South Africa was named Moment of the Year, as voted for by fans. The Brave Blossoms produced one of the biggest upsets in sporting history to defeat the Springboks on the opening weekend of the World Cup, providing one of the stand-out stories of the tournament.

2015 World Rugby Award winners

Team of the Year: New Zealand

Player of the Year: Dan Carter (New Zealand)

Coach of the Year: Michael Cheika (Australia)

Try of the Year: Julian Savea (New Zealand) v France, RWC quarterfinal

Breakthrough Player of the Year: Nehe Milner-Skudder (New Zealand)

Women's Player of the Year: Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand)

Men's Sevens Player of the Year: Wener Kok (South Africa)

Women's Sevens Player of the Year: Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

Referee of the Year: Nigel Owens

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.