TMO erred in awarding Sharks' Cobus Reinach try
February 17, 2014
The Sharks looked good in defeating the Bulls in Durban (Australia only)
Super Rugby has been dealt its first officiating black eye of the 2014 season, with SANZAR referees boss Lyndon Bray saying the Sharks should not have been awarded Cobus Reinach's try in their 31-16 win over the Bulls at Kings Park on Saturday.
Television Match Official Deon van Blommenstein awarded the try only after watching multiple replays, but Bray told supersport in South Africa that it should not have been given as Sharks lock Anton Bresler had knocked on in the lead-up.
Bray disagreed with Van Blommenstein's assessment that Bresler had not played his Bulls counterpart Paul Willemse in the air. Bray said the knock-on had come first so that should have been the decision; if not, he said, a penalty should have been awarded because of the infringement in the air. Either way, Bray said, the try should not have been awarded.
"We unfortunately got the TMO decision wrong," Bray told supersport.
"The Sharks forward did knock the ball forward out of the Bulls player's hands. Also, there was consideration to the fact that the Sharks player obstructed the Bulls player in the air.
"Deon has accepted that the right decision should have been a knock-on and scrum to the Bulls."
The Sharks won easily, claiming a bonus point for scoring four tries, but they led only 8-6 when Reinach's try was awarded in the 20th minute.
The top ESPNfootytips Super Rugby tipster at the end of the home and away season wins $A2000, with the runner-up claiming $A1000. We also have a pair of Gold Class movie tickets for each weekly winner.
Best of all you and a mate could be heading off to Game II of the Bledisloe Cup series between the Wallabies and the All Blacks in Auckland. The prize includes flight, accommodation, transfers and match tickets. Simply enter your tips WEEKLY to make another entry in the competition.
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
Communication error please reload the page.