Super Rugby
Nick Cummins fit to face Queensland Reds
ESPN Staff
July 4, 2014
Western Force's winger Nick Cummins attempts to break through a tackle, Force v Lions, Super Rugby, nib Stadium, Perth, May24, 2014
Western Force missed Nick Cummins against the Blues © Getty Images

Western Force have recalled Nick Cummins for their final match of the regular Super Rugby season in Perth, against Queensland Reds at nib Stadium on Saturday. Cummins missed the thumping by the Blues last weekend with a neck injury sustained during the Wallabies' three-Test series against France.

Force coach Michael Foley, meanwhile, has selected a new halves pairing of Ian Prior and Zack Holmes after Alby Mathewson and Sias Ebersohn were ruled out by their respective hip and biceps injuries. Prior has started in six of his 12 appearances for the Force this season, while Holmes earns his third opportunity in the run-on side, but they have not started as a pair.

Wilhelm Steenkamp has replaced Adam Coleman at lock, while prop Pek Cowan will become the third most-capped player in the club's history on Saturday when he runs out for his 80th Super Rugby match for the Force. He sits behind Matt Hodgson (111) and Nathan Sharpe (92) on the all-time list of appearances for the club.

Foley says his side will be looking for a fitting final home performance of the regular season.

"This weekend we're looking for a performance that not only allows us to reach the goals we've set ourselves as a team, but provides a fitting performance for our fans who keep fronting for us.

"We know that the key to achieving that is our attitude.

"Irrespective of the situation in the game - attack, defence, the battle at the breakdown - our desire to win every moment and our willingness to work for each other will always make the biggest difference."

Force: Jayden Hayward; Dane Haylett-Petty, Marcel Brache, Chris Tuatara-Morrison, Nick Cummins; Zack Holmes, Ian Prior; Ben McCalman, Matt Hodgson (captain), Hugh McMeniman; Wilhelm Steenkamp, Sam Wykes; Kieran Longbottom, Nathan Charles, Pek Cowan. Replacements: Heath Tessmann, Tetera Faulkner, Oliver Hoskins, Adam Coleman, Brynard Stander, Justin Turner, Dillyn Leyds, Solomoni Rasolea.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.