Super Rugby
Western Force sign Tasman winger Mitchell Scott
ESPN Staff
December 4, 2014

Western Force have signed former New Zealand Under-20 winger Mitchell Scott from 2014 ITM Cup runners-up Tasman Makos on a two-year deal.

Scott, son of late All Blacks tourist Stephen Scott and a former New Zealand secondary schools sprint champion, was a starting member of the 2011 Junior All Blacks side that won the IRB Junior World Championship in Italy. He subsequently started in the Makos side that defeated Hawke's Bay in the 2013 ITM Cup Championship final, and came off the bench against Taranaki in the 2014 Premiership final.

A member of the Crusaders' Wider Training Squad, he said: "It's a really exciting to join the Force and they're a great bunch of boys. It's a great to have the opportunity to be here full-time and not just training as part of a Super Rugby squad through the pre-season as I've done previously.

"We've had a good few seasons with Tasman over the past two years and have gone from the worst team in the competition to the second-best this season. It's been really cool to be a part of that developing team and then see team-mates go on to higher honours.

"It's not dissimilar to what the Force has done. It'd be great to contribute to what the guys have been doing here, and keep that development going. It's pretty cool to get over to Perth. I've got a lot of my mates living over here now and it's a great place. It's a lot hotter - and a fair bit bigger - than Nelson."

Force coach Michael Foley described Scott as an exciting, young player "who adds genuine pace to our outside backs".

2015 Western Force squad: Robbie Abel (Extended Playing Squad, EPS), Chris Alcock, Marcel Brache, Luke Burton, Nathan Charles, Adam Coleman, Angus Cottrell, Pek Cowan, Patrick Dellit, Sias Ebersohn, Tetera Faulkner, Kyle Godwin, Dane Haylett-Petty, Ross Haylett-Petty (EPS), Chris Heiberg, Matt Hodgson, Zack Holmes, Oliver Hoskins, Brad Lacey (EPS), Ryan Louwrens (EPS), Steve Mafi, Alby Mathewson, Ben McCalman, Luke Morahan, Albert Nikoro, Ian Prior, Solomoni Rasolea, Mitchell Scott, Brynard Stander, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Heath Tessmann, Francois van Wyk (EPS), Rory Walton, Sam Wykes.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.