• AEGON Championships

Cilic wins Queen's after Nalbandian disqualification

ESPN staff
June 17, 2012
David Nalbandian defaulted in the Queen's final after injuring a linesman © Getty Images

Marin Cilic was crowned champion at Queen's in bizarre circumstances after David Nalbandian was disqualified for unsporting conduct.

The Argentine had won the opening set on a tiebreak, but was handed a code violation for kicking out at an advertising board, injuring a linesman in the process.

Having gone 4-3 behind in the second set, Nalbandian took out his frustration on an advertising board surrounding Andrew McDougall's chair, which smacked into the line judge's shine and caused a nasty gash.

Amid jeers from the crowd, referee Fergus Murphy awarded Cilic the match, and the championship. The Croatian was presented with the AEGON Championships trophy, but Nalbandian did not receive the runner's up prize.

"I'm very sorry to do that, sometimes you get very frustrated and it's tough to control," Nalbandian said. "It was a mistake. It's a tough moment to end a final like that. Today I did a mistake, everyone makes mistakes, I am very sorry."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.