Wales v South Africa
South Africa swap five for Wales
ESPN Staff
November 26, 2014
Lwazi Mvovo starts for the Springboks © Getty Images

South Africa have made five changes ahead of their Test against Wales.

The Springboks had their overseas-based contingent ruled out as the match falls outside of the international Test window and Heyneke Meyer has drafted in five new faces for the match.

In the front-row Tendai Mtawarira and Bismarck du Plessis start. There is a changing of the guard in the back three with Willie le Roux, Cornal Hendricks and Lwazi Mvovo all getting the nod as they come in for JP Pietersen, Johan Goosen and Bryan Habana.

"This tour has been a good test of our depth and we're looking forward to see what the team can do on Saturday," said Meyer. "We will face a fired-up Welsh side this weekend. They played very well against New Zealand and it will be a tough end to our season, but we want to finish on a high and the focus this week has been on ensuring we keep on building on what we've done thus far this year.

"All the players coming into the team have been part of our squad for most of the season. They know our plans and structures and now it's about execution on Saturday."

South Africa: Willie le Roux, Cornal Hendricks, Jan Serfontein, Jean de Villiers (captain), Lwazi Mvovo, Pat Lambie, Cobus Reinach; Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, Coenie Oosthuizen, Eben Etzebeth, Victor Matfield (vice-captain), Marcell Coetzee, Teboho "Oupa" Mohoje, Duane Vermeulen

Replacements: Adriaan Strauss, Trevor Nyakane, Julian Redelinghuys, Lood de Jager, Nizaam Carr, Francois Hougaard, Handré Pollard, Damian de Allende

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.