South Africa v Australia, Rugby Championship
Fourie du Preez starts for Springboks
ESPN Staff
September 25, 2013
Fourie du Preez gets the nod for the Springboks © Getty Images

Springboks coach Heyneke Meyer has opted to make two changes to the side that lost to the All Blacks ahead of Saturday's Test against Australia.

Meyer has drafted in scrum-half Fourie du Preez for his first Test start since the 2011 World Cup. He has been plying his trade in Japan but due to an agreement with his side Suntory Sungoliath, he is free to play in South Africa's home Tests.

And Meyer has also handed a start to hooker Adriaan Strauss with Bismarck du Plessis and Ruan Pienaar dropping to the bench.

The Test will see Morne Steyn and Jannie du Plessis win their 50th caps for the Springboks and Meyer is hoping his team get back to winning ways after falling to the Kiwis in the last round of the Rugby Championship.

"The players all knew what the plans were for the Rugby Championships and where they stand," Meyer said. "We were always going to rotate players where possible and planned to start this Test with Adriaan and Fourie.

"We know we're in for a big challenge against Australia. The players have been working very hard and we're looking forward to playing in front of our own supporters at Newlands on Saturday - it's always special to play Tests in South Africa."

And Meyer heralded Steyn and Du Plessis' achievement, saying: "We're all very pleased for Jannie and Morné, who are great ambassadors for South Africa and the Springboks.

"They have endured through difficult times but have shown a lot of resilience and that is why they have made it to this special milestone. It's well-deserved and a privilege only a very small percentage of Springboks have achieved."

South Africa: Zane Kirchner, Willie le Roux, JJ Engelbrect, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Tendai Mtawarira, Adriaan Strauss, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Flip van der Merwe, Francois Louw, Willem Alberts, Duane Vermeulen

Repalcements: Bismarck du Plessis, Gurthro Steenkamp, Coenie Oosthuizen, Juandre Kruger, Siya Kolisi, Ruan Pienaar, Pat Lambie, Jan Serfontein

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
Download ESPN's new UK multisport app, a fresh and powerful new way to follow your favourite UK sports news, scores and video.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.