Rugby Championship
Pumas make five changes for All Blacks
ESPN Staff
September 4, 2014
Leonardo Senatore is recalled to the back row © Getty Images

Rugby Championship preview - Round Three

Argentina have made five changes to the side that pushed South Africa, two personnel and three positional, recalling Leonardo Senatore and Horacio Agulla to play New Zealand at McLean Park in Napier on Saturday.

Senatore will win his 23rd cap after the he was selected to replace the injured flanker Pablo Matera, who suffered a partial shoulder dislocation in the 33-31 loss to the Springboks in Salta two weeks ago.

Senatore, who plays for Aviva Premiership club Worcester Warriors, won the last of his caps against Wales in November, and his inclusion at No.8 forces a back-row reshuffle with Juan Manuel Leguizamon moving to the side of the scrum and Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe switching to the blindside.

Bath winger Agulla, meanwhile, moves from the bench to replace Manuel Montero on the right wing, with Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino switching to the left wing.

There are also four changes on the bench, with prop Luca Noguera Paz, flanker Rodrigo Baez, five-eighth Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias and wing Juan Imhoff included.

The Pumas are yet to beat the All Blacks in 22 Tests, although the sides drew 21-21 in Buenos Aires in 1985.

Argentina: Joaquin Tuculet; Horacio Agulla, Marcelo Bosch, Juan Martin Hernandez, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Leonardo Senatore, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe; Tomas Lavanini, Mariano Galarza; Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (captain), Marcos Ayerza. Replacements: Matas Cortese, Lucas Noguera Paz, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Matas Alemanno, Rodrigo Baez, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Juan Imhoff.


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Russian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Golf - Houston Open
    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open