The Rugby Championship
Argentina confirm Test venues
ESPNscrum Staff
December 30, 2011
Venezuela play Peru at the Ciudad de La Plata Stadium, 2011 Copa America, Argentina, July 23, 2011
Argentina will tackle the All Blacks at the Estadio Ciudad de La Plata in La Plata © Getty Images
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Rugby Championship
Teams: Argentina

Argentina have confirmed the stadiums they will use in next year's inaugural Rugby Championship.

The Argentine Rugby Union (UAR) has revealed that the Pumas will play their first home match in the southern hemisphere's premier competition against South Africa on August 25 at the Estadio Malvinas Argentinas in the western city of Mendoza.

The Estadio Ciudad de La Plata, just outside Buenos Aires, will play host to their clash against Rugby World Cup holders New Zealand on September 29 and their final match in the competition against Australia on October 6 will be staged at the Estadio Gigante de Arroyito in Rosario

"Next year will be an unprecedented one for rugby in Argentina, with the Pumas playing a total of 12 matches, including six at home, against the strongest nations in the world," said UAR president Luis Castillo.

The new-look competition, previously the three-team Tri-Nations, will begin on August 18 with Argentina travelling to Cape Town to tackle South Africa. They will also play New Zealand at Wellington's Westpac Stadium on September 8 and Australia at Skilled Park on the Gold Coast on September 15.

The Pumas will warm up for the Rugby Championship with a clash against Italy (June 9) followed by a two-Test series with France (June 16 & 23).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.