The Rugby Championship
Cilliers and Kolisi win Springbok calls
ESPN Staff
August 4, 2012
South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer and skipper Jean de Villiers speak to the media, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth, South Africa, June 20, 2012
Heyneke Meyer has named five uncapped players in his South Africa squad © Getty Images

South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer has named five uncapped players in his squad for the forthcoming Rugby Championship.

Stormers flanker Siya Kolisi and Lions prop Pat Cilliers have been drafted into Meyer's plans for the first time, while JJ Engelbrecht, Elton Jantjies and Jano Vermaak are also after first caps after missing out against England in June.

Stormers lock Andries Bekker has been granted a recall after two years away from the Test stage due to injury.

"It is important for us to build continuity in our squad, which is why we did not make too many changes," Meyer said.

"Andries was always in the selection frame, but got injured shortly before England arrived and was not available. It's good to have him back. Pat and Siya were also part of our thinking earlier in the season and have forced their way into the squad with consistently good performances in Super Rugby."

The Springboks will assemble in Cape Town on Sunday to prepare for their opening Test, against Argentina at Newlands on August 18, with four players to be cut from the squad prior to the away leg a week later.

Bjorn Basson, Juan Smith, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Bandise Maku and Coenie Oosthuizen remain absent through injury, while Meyer has highlighted Jaco Taute, Johan Goosen and Duane Vermeulen as possible reinforcements later in the tournament.

South Africa:

Forwards: W Alberts (Sharks), A Bekker (Stormers), P Cilliers (Lions), M Coetzee (Sharks), K Daniel (Sharks), B du Plessis (Sharks), J du Plessis (Sharks), E Etzebeth (Stormers), D Greyling (Bulls), S Kolisi (Stormers), J Kruger (Bulls), T Mtawarira (Sharks), J Potgieter (Bulls), C Ralepelle (Bulls), P Spies (Bulls), A Strauss (Cheetahs), F van der Merwe (Bulls)

Backs: J de Villiers (Stormers, capt), JJ Engelbrecht (Stormers), B Habana (Stormers), F Hougaard (Bulls), E Jantjies (Lions), Z Kirchner (Bulls), P Lambie (Sharks), L Mvovo (Sharks), R Pienaar (Ulster), JP Pietersen (Sharks), F Steyn (Sharks), M Steyn (Bulls), J Vermaak (Bulls)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.